Back to List

Jim McDonough elected Chair of Ramsey County Board

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners today elected Jim McDonough as Chair of the Board for 2018.

Commissioner McDonough has represented District 6 (Saint Paul neighborhoods of Upper East Side, Payne-Phalen and Conway-Battle Creek) since 2000. He has served as chair twice previously from 2014-2015 and 2002-2003.

McDonough succeeds Commissioner Victoria Reinhardt (District 7), who has served as chair since 2016. Reinhardt will serve as chair of the budget committee in 2018.

Commissioner Janice Rettman (District 3) was elected to continue serving as vice chair.

Commissioner Rafael Ortega (District 5) was elected to continue serving as chair of the Ramsey County Regional Railroad Authority. Commissioner Blake Huffman (District 1) was elected to continue serving as chair of the Ramsey County Housing and Redevelopment Authority.

The seven-member board voted unanimously for each of the appointments.

Watch a video of the board meeting

Posted on Tuesday, January 2, 2018 - 3:04 p.m.