Project Committees

Three committees advise the Rush Line BRT Project: the Policy Advisory Committee, the Community Advisory Committee and the Technical Advisory Committee.

Scroll table right to see more

Policy Advisory Committee

The Policy Advisory Committee advises the Ramsey County Regional Railroad Authority on key elements of the project. The Policy Advisory Committee uses technical and community input to address issues relating to the environmental review, preliminary engineering and station area planning for the Rush Line BRT Project. The Policy Advisory Committee, which meets approximately every two months, consists of elected officials and representatives from higher education, the nonprofit sector and the business community. Policy Advisory Committee members are:

Name Title Organization Alternate or Primary
Marylee Abrams Mayor Maplewood Primary
Randy Anderson Director of Business Services ISD 622 Primary
Ruby Azurdia-Lee President Comunidades Latinas Unidas en Servicio (CLUES) Primary
Kit Brady Vice President, Human Resources & Environment of Care Gillette Children's Specialty Healthcare Primary
Amy Brendmoen City Council President City of Saint Paul Primary
Mary Buerkle Board Member Vadnais Heights Economic Development Corporation Primary
Tom Cook Special Assistant to the President Metropolitan State University Primary
Paris Dunning Executive Director East Side Area Business Association Primary
Kevin Edberg Council Member City of White Bear Lake Alternate
Jo Emerson (Chair) Mayor City of White Bear Lake Primary
Monte Hilleman Senior Vice President of Real Estate Development Saint Paul Port Authority Primary
Craig Johnson Council Member City of Vadnais Heights Primary
Sheila Kauppi Metro District North Area Manager Minnesota Department of Transportation Primary
Sheila Kelly Member White Bear Area Chamber of Commerce Primary
Jim Lindner (Vice Chair) Council Member City of Gem Lake Primary
Scott McCune Supervisor White Bear Township Primary
Kelly Monson Council Member City of Forest Lake Primary
Patrick Opatz Vice President Finance and Administration Century College Primary
Victoria Reinhardt Commissioner Ramsey County Primary
Sandy Rummel Council Member Metropolitan Council Primary
Bryan Smith Council Member City of Maplewood Alternate
Terri Thao Program Director Nexus Community Partners Primary
Shannon Watson Director of Public Affairs Saint Paul Area Chamber of Commerce Primary
Pakou Yang Interim Vice President of Enrollment Management and Student Affairs Century College Alternate
Yao Yang Public Affairs Specialist Saint Paul Area Chamber of Commerce Alternate
Scroll table right to see more

Community Advisory Committee

The Community Advisory Committee advises the Rush Line BRT Project team and Policy Advisory Committee on key project design, station area planning, environmental analysis and operational plan decisions from a community and business perspective. The Community Advisory Committee, which meets approximately quarterly, consists of people who live and work along the Rush Line BRT route. Community Advisory Committee members are:

Name Community
Samantha Crosby Maplewood
Laura Keithahn Maplewood
John O'Phelan Maplewood
Darrell Paulsen Maplewood
Therese Sonnek Maplewood
Yin Thong Maplewood
Lisa Freese Saint Paul
Zack Mensinger Saint Paul
Brent Peterson Saint Paul
Eric Saathoff Saint Paul
Rosemary Slowiak Saint Paul
TraNeicia Sylvester (Co-Chair) Saint Paul
Julie Vang Saint Paul
Cynthia Whiteford Saint Paul
Dave Anderson Vadnais Heights
Curt Cooper Vadnais Heights
Robert Morse (Co-Chair) Vadnais Heights
Michael Werner Vadnais Heights
Richard Johnstone White Bear Lake
Mark Lynch White Bear Lake
Sandy Matzdorf White Bear Lake
Carolyn Wensman White Bear Township
Scroll table right to see more

Technical Advisory Committee

The Technical Advisory Committee meets monthly and advises the Rush Line BRT Project team and Policy Advisory Committee from a technical perspective. It consists of staff (mostly planners and engineers) from public agencies involved in planning the Rush Line BRT Project. Technical Advisory Committee members are:

Name Agency
Frank Alarcon Ramsey County Public Works
Stephen Baisden Metro Transit
Karyn Berg Ramsey County Workforce Solutions
Bill Dermody City of Saint Paul
Mark Finken City of Saint Paul
Dale Gade Minnesota Department of Transportation
Andy Gitzlaff Ramsey County Public Works
Carl Jensen Minnesota Department of Transportation
Anne Kane

City of White Bear Lake

Paul Kauppi City of White Bear Lake
Steve Love City of Maplewood
Joe Lux Ramsey County Public Works
Michael Martin City of Maplewood
Josh Olson Ramsey County Community and Economic Development
Daniel Pena Metropolitan Council
Tom Riedesel White Bear Township
Bill Short White Bear Township
Nolan Wall City of Vadnais Heights
Scott Yonke Ramsey County Parks and Recreation