Kathy J. Keefe

Assistant City Administrator

651.204.6013 *Phone* 651.204.6113 *Fax* kathy.keefe@cityvadnaisheights.com



The City of Vadnais Heights 800 East County Road E Vadnais Heights, MN 55127

Memorandum:

TO: Mayor Johannsen and City Council Members

FROM: Kathy J. Keefe, Assistant City Administrator

DATE: November 9, 2012

SUBJECT: November 6, 2012 Mayor, Council Members and Special Election

Recommended Council Action

Accept the canvass of the November 6, 2012 General Election, including city offices for mayor, council members and special election for council member to fill a vacancy in term expiring January 5, 2015, as prepared by the judges of the election. With the results of this election, Marc A. Johannsen was elected to a 2-year term as Mayor for the period of January 7, 2013 through January 5, 2015; Terry Nyblom was elected to fill a vacancy in a term expiring January 5, 2015 and cannot take office until after seven days of the contested period and due to the Thanksgiving Holiday will not be able to be sworn in until November 26, 2012; and Jerry Auge and Craig Johnson were elected as Council Members to 4-year terms for a period from January 7, 2013 through January 2, 2017.

Background

A change in the election law states that per Section 205.185, subd. 3, "between the third and tenth days after an election, the governing body of a city conducting any election including a special municipal election, or the governing body of a town conducting the general election in November shall act as the canvassing board, canvass the returns, and declare the results of the election." Attached are the results of the November 6, 2012 General Election for Mayor, Council Members and Special Election for Council Member.

The City again had an excellent overall turnout of 7,033 voters or 87.23% of those eligible. Election judges processed 1,141 new registrations on Election Day and the absentee ballot board administered and accepted 769 absentee ballots.

All election judges and administrative staff put an enormous amount of time and effort into making the election process and run as smoothly and efficiently as it did. Having three precincts in Vadnais Heights Commons worked very well and think the City and Council should look at making this a permanent polling location for Precinct 3. The procedures implemented for processing absentee ballots ensures that everyone's vote counts; however, it entails a much more detailed and time consuming procedure that is at times difficult when added to the regular daily duties. I would also like to express thanks to the public works/parks/fire departments in helping with the set-up and take down of all precincts and the administrative employees who juggled absentee ballot applications, phone calls and questions, assisted me at closing the polls, etc. along with their regular job duties for the past few months.

	PCT 1	PCT 2	PCT 3	PCT 4	TOTAL VOTES
CITY OFFICES					
MAYOR					
MARC JOHANNSEN	947	1561	1254	1243	5005
Write-ins					
Brian Betler	2				
Wayward Vagabond	1				
Samus Hran	1				
Arthur Carlson	3				
Amy Ritter-Mark	1				
Russel Mark	1				
Jerry Auge	2				
Victoria Shipley	1				
Sylvia Rani	1				
Mark Haider	1				
Kevin Greeling	1				
Lesley VanBerkom	1				
Craig Johnson	1				
Gene Hoff	1				
Spock	1				
Mark Bigelbach	2				
Dennis Prchal	2				
Mark Graham	1				
Kim Salag	1				
Anyone Else	1		3		
Terry Nybloom		1	1	2	
Bill Johnson		1			
Ryan Edward Johnson		1			
Bernard Williams		1			
Dave Rusenbrook		1			
Jennifer Moore		1			
Jacob Dunn		1			
Lanny Anderson		1			
Jesus Christ		2			
Justin Charpenter		1			
Joe Hesler		1			
Chris Necheim		1			
None		1			
Craig Johnson		1			
Dave Rowe		1			
Mike Godbrey		1			
Brent S. Connor		1			

	PCT 1	PCT 2	PCT 3	PCT 4	TOTAL VOTES
Charles J. Stevenson		1			
Jerry Urban		1			
	PCT 1	PCT 2	PCT 3	PCT 4	
MAYOR					
MARC JOHANNSEN					
Aaron Magnuson		1			
Carol Cincotta		3			
Aaron Woodward		2			
Frank Furst		1			
Anthony Stark		1			
Sue Banovetz		1			
Brian Brantson		1			
Ruth Brantson		1			
Ruth Kirkevold		1			
Any other		1			
Phillip Liaboe		1			
Ross Adrian		1			
Michele Bachman		1			
Michael Scott		1			
Douglas Gerlach		1			
Big Bird		1			
Mike Wethern		1			
Kerry Swanson		1			
Ken Miller			1		
Robin Motley			1		
Jerry Auge			4		
Tom Holm			1		
Doug Heimstead			2		
Heidi Gunderson			1		
Julie Easter			1		
Scott Menter			1		
Nadia McWilliams			1		
Don Duncan			1		
Johannsen Sux			1		
Chris Jesmer			1		
Richard Sykes			1		
Other			1		
Mark Luby			1		
Mark Otto			2		
Thomas Puttock			1		
Jan Jarvinen			1		
Gerry Urban			1		
Chad Laing			1		

	PCT 1	PCT 2	PCT 3	PCT 4	TOTAL VOTES
Willie Nelson			1		
David Lubbers			1		
Robert Anderson			1		
Mickey Mouse			1		
	PCT 1	PCT 2	PCT 3	PCT 4	
<u>MAYOR</u>					
Carl Jacobson			1		
Bruce Campbell			1		
John Gotti			1		
Michael Schowalter			1		
John Enoch			1		
Martha Slattery			1		
Andrew Abel			1		
Matt Furkas			1		
Chuck Norris			1		
Emily M. Olson			1		
Erich Hofmeister			1		
Sandra Mansek			1		
Dan O. Turnlund			1		
Michael Kruntz			1		
Jake Markham			1		
Jacob Markham			1		
No Vote			1		
Everado Martinez, Jr.				2	2
				1	1
					1
				٠	•

	PCT 1	PCT 2	PCT 3	PCT 4	TOTAL VOTES
COUNCIL MEMBER					_
COUNCIL MEMBER	679	1076	000	702	2427
JERRY AUGE	678	1076	980	703	
MARK COHEN	433	634	480	528	
DOUGLAS GERLACH	266	461	327	363	
CRIAG JOHNSON	495	733	615	536	2379
Write-ins					
Obi Wan Kanobi	1				
Yoda	1				
Art Carlson	2				
Sara Carlson	1				
Amy Ritter-Mark	1				
Lee V. Parr	1				
Sylvia Rani	1				
Bruce Allan Larsen	1				
Mary Beth Larsen	1				
Nybloom		1			
Gerald Nelsen		1			
Jason Schierts		1			
Graham Stevenson		1			
Sue Banovetz		1	1		
Steven Johnson		2			
Justin Charpenter		1			
Josh Maloy		1			
Kerry Swanson		1			
Cathie Rhodas		1			
Ken Miller			1		
Rob Sivgney			1		
Jacob Joseph Volkmann			1		
Nadia McWilliams			1		
Terry Nyblom			2	1	
Chad VanHoue			1		
Jennifer Knode			1		
Richard Sykes			1		
Robert Stigney			1		
Lee Michaels			1		
Sheila Kelley				1	
Mickey Mouse				1	
Cassandra Finnegan				1	
Jennifer Nodes				3	
James Flinn				1	
Adam Lish				1	

	PCT 1	PCT 2	PCT 3	PCT 4	TOTAL VOTES
					9308
COUNCIL MEMBER					
JAMES FLINN	87	179	102	137	505
SHEILA KELLY	325	563	360	366	
RUDOLPH MAURINE, JR	27	40	33	500 67	
JENNIFER NODES	256	347	312	343	
TERRY NYBLOM	344	572	588	404	
TERRI NIBLOW	344	312	300	404	1906
Write-ins					
Luke Skywalker	1				
Art Carlson	2				
Lee V. Parr	1				
Sylvia Rani	1				
Jason Schierts		1			
Timothy Braun		1			
Robin Motley		1			
Frank Fuerst		1			
Kerry Swanson		1			
Eric Lee			2		
Travis R. Anderson			1		
Scott Menter			1		
Janet Jarvinen			1		
Chad VanHoue			1		
Richard Sykes			1		
John Cenea				1	
Trixie Kittin				1	
Cassandra Finnegan				1	
No Vote				1	
Mickey Mouse				1	
Carley Miyamoto				2	