Ramsey County Charter Commission Minutes of October 26, 2015

The meeting was held at Pubic Works Building, 1425 Paul Kirkwold Drive, Arden Hills with the following members in attendance:

	Members Present	Members Absent
District 1	Joe Murphy	
	Richard Sonterre	
District 2	James Meyer	
	Bob Benke	
District 3	Eric Haugee	
	Randy Gustafson	
District 4		Theresa Tenelle Nix
		Sharon Garth
District 5	Rachel Gillespie	
		Wendy Underwood
District 6	Robert Lynn Humphrey	
	Lizeth de la Torre	
District 7	Robert Bruton	
		Vacant
At Large	Fred Perez	
		Emily Kristen Holmes Samsel
		Renee Alexander
Also present:	Jeff Stephenson, Ramsey County Civil Division Director	
	Janet Guthrie, Director of Administrative Services / Chief Clerk – County Board	
	Julie Kleinschmidt, Ramsey County Manager	
	Lee Mehrkens, Chief Financial Officer	
	Kristen Jackelen, observer	

1. Call to Order

Chair Gustafson called the meeting to order at 7:05 p.m.

2. Approval of October 26, 2015 Agenda

Murphy moved to approve Agenda for October 26, 2015; seconded by Humphrey. Approved unanimously.

3. Approval of February 2, 2015 Meeting Minutes

Correction: James Meyer was present at the February 2 meeting. Murphy moved approval of amended minutes; seconded by Humphrey. Approved unanimously.

4. Introduction of New Members

Renee Alexander and Liz (Lizeth) de la Torre were welcomed as new members this year.

5. Citizen Comments/Input

None.

6. New Business

Julie Kleinschmidt, Ramsey County Manager, and Lee Mehrkens, Chief Financial Officer, presented the 2016-2017 Ramsey County Budget, and presented on the County Reorganization Overview. Highlights from the presentation:

- County undertook intensive review of data on the status of the County
- The County Board created a new vision, mission and four new goals:
 - Wellbeing: Strengthen individual, family and community health, safety and wellbeing
 - Prosperity: Cultivate economic prosperity and invest in neighborhoods with concentrated financial poverty
 - Opportunity: Enhance access to opportunity and mobility for all residents and businesses
 - o Accountability: Model fiscal accountability, transparency and strategic investments
- Significant Issues that cut across department boundaries led to realigning the County to the goals and into service teams with a 'residents first' focus:
 - o Economic Growth & Community Investment Team
 - Health & Wellness Team
 - Safety & Justice Team
 - o Information & Public Records Team
 - o Countywide Strategic Team
- Budget and performance measures aligned to four goals; all service teams / departments prioritize their budgets to reflect the mission, vision and goals.
- Working on creating broad "community indicators" that track progress over time
- County held a zero percent increase in 2014 2015; responsible budgeting includes modest increase for 2016 - 2017 budget; targeted investments will further County's goals and performance
- Important budget dates were provided leading up to final approval by County Board of budget and property tax levy.

7. Old Business

Benke moved that the Charter communicate its appreciation to Bonnie Jackelen for her dedicated services to the Charter Commission; seconded by Sonterre. Approved unanimously. Chair Gustafson will write and send a letter.

8. Nominating Committee for Officers

Murphy expressed interest in continuing in 2016 as Vice Chair. Humphrey moved to re-appoint current leadership team (Gustafson as Chair; Murphy as Vice Chair); seconded by Benke. Approved unanimously.

9. Potential 2017 Charter Commission Meeting Dates

The proposed dates for the 2016 Charter Commission meetings are set as:

Monday, February 1, 2016

Monday, May 2, 2016

Monday, August 1, 2016

Monday, October 24, 2016

Discussion to only hold meetings as needed. Murphy moved to accept the meeting dates for 2016 and only hold as needed; seconded by Sonterre. Approved unanimously.

10. <u>Discussion of Preferred Method of Correspondence</u>

Consensus to have correspondence via email; no hard copy packets.

Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 8:29.

Janet M. Guthrie - Acting Chief Clerk - County Board