

Community Health Services Advisory Committee Summary Meeting Minutes January 7, 2015

Members Present

Tom Kottke M.D.
Linda Kudee
Michelle Lichtig
Madonna McDermott
Dave Muhovich
Eugene Nichols
Caitlyn Nystedt
Regina Rippel
Kerri-Elizabeth Sawyer
Jill Stewart

Staff and Guests:

Rina McManus
Zack Hansen
Jeanne Weigum
Alicia Leizinger
Jaya Ginter
Kaye Ward

The meeting was called to Order at 5:30 pm by Tom Kottke. Tom welcomed everyone to the meeting and introductions were made.

A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes from the December 3, 2014 meeting.

Agenda item:	Speaker/Discussion:
Formal election of Tom Kottke, MD as	A formal nomination to appoint Tom Kottke, MD as Chair of Saint Paul -
Chair of Saint Paul - Ramsey County	Ramsey County Community Health Services Advisory Committee was
Community Health Services Advisory	made by Eugene Nichols and seconded by Dave Muhovich. All members
Committee	present were in favor.
	The committee is currently seeking nominations for Vice Chair.
Electronic cigaretteshealth effects and	Jeanne Weigum, President and Alicia A. Leizinger, MPH, Program and
regulation	Policy Specialist for the Association for Nonsmokers-Minnesota (ANSR)
	were present at this meeting to discuss the health effects and
	regulations of electronic cigarettes.
	ANSR request the Committee make recommendations to the Ramsey
	County Board of Commissions to:
	Adopt ordinance language that will treat the use of electronic
	cigarettes indoors, the same as traditional tobacco use. Dave
	Muhovich and Alicia Leizinger will work with the Public Health
	Law Center on possible language.
	Support and encourage local municipalities to address
	restrictions on the sale of electronic devices and further, to
	enforce a 20 ft. barrier around buildings.



	SPRCPH will communicate the Committee recommendations to the County Board.
Ramsey County Public Health Awards	A draft document of the Ramsey County Public Health Awards was shared with the committee. The proposal is to establish an annual recognition of people who, through their individual or collective work, influence or contribute to improving public health in Ramsey County communities. The committee supported this initiative.
	Tom Kottke, Eugene Nichols and Caitlyn Nystedt volunteered as the CHSAC subcommittee to work alongside Ramsey County staff to review nominations and make recommendations for awards.
	The final draft will be posted on the Ramsey County website. Nominations will be due back by the end of February.
Meeting topics for 2015	Committee members submitted ideas for CHSAC work in 2015. Discussion ensued regarding how to merge and/or coordinate the work of the committee with that currently being done through the Strategic Plan and CHIP.

Minutes taken by: Kaye Ward

Motion to adjourn (7:30PM) passed by affirmation of the committee. **Next meeting**: February 4, 2015 SHIP Community Leadership Team