Proclamation

WHEREAS, Transgender Day of Visibility honors the memory, bravery and resilience of trans people in our community and around the world; and

WHEREAS, This annual day fosters acceptance of transgender, non-binary, and gendernonconforming people and raises awareness of anti-trans prejudice and discrimination within our society; and

WHEREAS, Transgender Day of Visibility encourages Ramsey County to support and uplift the trans, non-binary, and gender non-conforming residents and staff within our many, varied departments; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County acknowledges that transgender community members, especially trans people of color, are disproportionately affected by hate crimes and violence, high levels of unemployment, and limited access to housing; and

WHEREAS, This day draws particular attention to the astonishingly short life expectancy of transgender women and femmes of color, due to unrelenting transphobia and racism; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County recognizes its unique position to connect transgender, nonbinary, and gender non-conforming employees and residents of all ages with appropriate, affirming, programs, services and life-saving healthcare; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County honors and commemorates the effort, commitment, and resilience of people who work towards equity and justice on behalf of transgender, non-binary, and gender-nonconforming youth and adults; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County aspires to foster inclusivity by embracing and affirming intersectional experiences across race, gender identity and expression, disability and sexual orientation; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County begins a journey of striving to support, embrace, and respect trans people in its values, practice and policy; Now, Therefore, Be It

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners declares April 9, 2024, as Transgender Day of Visibility in Ramsey County.

ista Martinson, Board Chair, District 3

Mary & McSuire Mary Jo McGuire, Commissioner, District 2 Rafael Ortega, Commissioner, District 5

Untoria Q. Renhandt Victoria Reinhardt, Commissioner, District 7

malete Nicole Frethem, Commissioner, District 1 Kuna Marun Rena-Moran, Commissioner, District 4 Mai Chong Xiong, Commissioner, District 6

phanna M Berg Johanna Berg, County Manager