Proclamation

WHEREAS, Broadband services play an important role in civic and cultural participation, lifelong learning and access to essential services for Ramsey County communities; and

WHEREAS, Digital equity ensures all individuals and communities have the information technology capacity needed for full participation in our society, democracy and economy; and

WHEREAS, The COVID-19 pandemic highlighted how the digital divide impacts our residents, particularly our racially and ethnically diverse residents and communities; and

WHEREAS, Nationally, nearly half of all people who are digital disconnected are people of color and are less likely to have a broadband internet connection or a desktop or laptop at home; and

WHEREAS, Access to a reliable, affordable internet connection is a social determinant of health, with higher COVID-19 mortality associated with a lack of an internet connection; and

WHEREAS, Digital skills are a gateway for career advancement and crucial for economic growth, intergenerational wealth-building and prosperity; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County is committed to closing the digital divide for its residents through the work of Ramsey County Library, Workforce Solutions, Information Services, Community Corrections and Service Center staff by launching programs such as Connectivity Blueprint, distributing Wi-Fi hotspots, hosting technology webinars and sharing resources on Ramsey Connected; Now, Therefore, Be It

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners declares the week of October 3-7 2022 as Digital Inclusion Week in Ramsey County, and Be It Further

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners encourages Ramsey County residents to join the board in raising awareness of advancing digital equity and being committed to closing the digital divide.

Trista MatasCastillo, Board Chair, District 3

Mary & McShure

Mary Jo McGuire, Commissioner, District 2

Rafael E. Ortega, Commissioner, District 5

Victoria Cl. Reinhardt Victoria Reinhardt, Commissioner, District 7 Nicole Frethem, Commissioner, District 1

Toni Çarter, Commissioner, District 4

Jim McDonough, Commissioner, District 6

Ryan T. O'Connor County Manager