Proclamationally as PRIDE Month to

WHEREAS, The month of June is recognized internationally as PRIDE Month to commemorate the Stonewall Riots in June 1969, which sparked the Gay Rights liberation movement; and

WHEREAS, The first-ever PRIDE parade known as the "Christopher Street Liberation Day" was organized to "demonstrate against centuries of abuse; official betrayal of human rights by virtually all segments of society; from government hostility to employment and housing discrimination and anti-homosexual laws"; and

WHEREAS, Marriage equality for same-sex couples was finally granted nationally on June 26, 2015 and the United States officially joined 18 other countries in legalizing same-sex marriages; and

WHEREAS, The State of Minnesota has been granting civil union contracts since August of 2013 and Ramsey County has been advancing marriage equality by signing over 1,266 civil contracts in support of residents; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County employs over 4000 employees with a spectrum of diverse ethnic and racial identities, gender and sexual identities, age ranges, abilities, and lived experiences that adds value to the counties workforce; and

WHEREAS, The PRIDE: LGBTQIA+ Employee Resource Group's was established in 2023 and its mission is to promote a safe and inclusive workplace culture for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, Queer, intersex, asexual Ramsey County employees and allies; Now, Therefore, Be It

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners declares June 2023 as Pride Month in Ramsey County and encourages residents to attend the St. Paul Pride on June 10th at the Rice Street Park; and Be It Further

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners will advance and deepen their commitment to advocate for the rights of LGBTQIA+ employees and residents.

Trista MatasCastillo, Board Chair, District 3

Mary 6 McSuire Mary Jo McGuire, Commissioner, District 2

Rafael Ortega, Commissioner, District 5

Untora Q. Reinfordet Victoria Reinhardt, Commissioner, District 7

Nicole Frethem, Commissioner, District 1

Juna Marun Rena Moran, Commissioner, District 4

Map Mai Chong Xiong, Commissioner, District 6

m1.06 Ryan T. O'Connor, County Manager