Proclamation

WHEREAS, Children are one of our greatest resources and strengths; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County is committed to the nurturing of children; and

WHEREAS, Family child care is quality early childhood education and a valuable investment in our children's future; and

WHEREAS, Family child care professionals play an important role in cultivating, supporting and educating young children in a warm, loving and culturally competent, home-based environment to meet the needs of families; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County recognizes family child care providers as an essential workforce for our economy that gives families access to necessary care allowing them to work; and

WHEREAS, Family child care providers remained open to provide stability and consistency to residents during the pandemic and went beyond the call of duty to ensure the health and wellbeing of children; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County residents are encouraged to recognize family child care providers throughout the county for their dedication to providing quality care and learning services, and for the important role they play in our children's future; and

WHEREAS, Ramsey County has nearly 400 licensed family child care providers caring for 4,000 children; and

WHEREAS, This year, thirteen providers will receive five-year awards; eight providers will receive ten-year awards; six providers will receive fifteen-year awards; thirteen providers will receive twenty-year awards; five providers will receive twenty-five year awards; twelve providers will receive thirty-year awards; and

WHEREAS, Catherine Estrem, Jean Kuehl, and Wilma Pralutsky will receive thirty-five year awards; Now, Therefore, Be It

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners declares October 11, 2022, as Licensed Family Child Care Provider Appreciation Day in Ramsey County.

Trista MatasCastillo, Board Chair, District 3

Mary & McLure
Mary Jo McGuire, Commissioner, District 2

Rafael E. Ortega, Commissioner, District 5

Victoria Reinhardt, Commissioner, District 7

Nicole Frethem, Commissioner, District 1

Toni Carter, Commissioner, District 4

Jim McDonough, Commissioner, District 6

Ryan T. O'Connor County Manager