Proclamation

WHEREAS, Ramsey County is firmly committed to promoting breastfeeding as the optimal nutrition for all infants and a source of lifelong health protection for infants and mothers; and

WHEREAS, Breastfeeding is a proven primary prevention strategy, protecting both infants and mothers from a host of chronic and acute diseases and conditions and building a foundation for lifelong health and wellness; and

WHEREAS, Parents face barriers to breastfeeding in the form of unsupportive workplaces, untrained childcare staff, institutional racism, and cultural taboos against breastfeeding in public; and,

WHEREAS, The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends exclusive breastfeeding for the first six months of life, followed by breastfeeding in combination with introductory foods until at least 2 years of age; and

WHEREAS, Minnesota has passed laws protecting breastfeeding employees' rights to time and space for milk expression, and breastfeeding in public; and

WHEREAS, August 1-7 is World Breastfeeding Week; August 8-14 is Indigenous Milk Medicine Week; August 15-21 is Asian American Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander Breastfeeding Week; August 25-31 is Black Breastfeeding Week; and recently added September 5-11 as Semana de La Lactancia Latina; Now, Therefore, Be It

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners declares August as Breastfeeding Awareness Month in Ramsey County; and Be It Further

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners commits Ramsey County to attaining the Breastfeeding Friendly Workplace Designation, and calls upon all organizations to make workplaces and public spaces welcoming for breastfeeding and chestfeeding families; and Be It Further

PROCLAIMED, That Ramsey County renews its commitment that families have the information and support they need to reach their breastfeeding goals to make Ramsey County the best community in Minnesota for all breastfeeding families.

Trieta Matas Castillo Board Chair District 3

Mary b McLure
Mary Jo McGuire, Commissioner, District 2

Rafael Ortega, Commissioner, District 5

Victoria Reinhardt, Commissioner, District 7

Nicole Frethem, Commissioner, District 1

Suna Maran Rena Moran, Commissioner, District 4

Mai Chong Xiong, Commissioner, District 6

Ryan T. O'Connor, County Manager