) yoclamation

WHEREAS, The Tech industry is critically important to the state, local economy and a key component of an innovative and dynamic ecosystem critical to Ramsey County's current and future economic success; and

WHEREAS, The key role of Tech workers was highlighted during the COVID-19 pandemic, through their work supporting virtual learning, online commerce, and many other essential functions to help society continue to function in a safe and socially distant way; and

WHEREAS, About 12,923 people working in tech occupations in Ramsey County, just over 3.8% of total employment in Ramsey County, while the national average for such occupations is about 3.4%; and

WHEREAS, Employment in tech occupations is projected to grow 0.3% on average annually through 2027 in Ramsey County, while average change in employment overall is likely to remain flat; and

WHEREAS, In addition to just over 200 new tech professionals needed to satisfy job growth, an additional 4.550 tech professionals will be needed in Ramsev County through 2027 to replace retirements and job changes out of the field; and

WHEREAS, The unemployment rate in tech positions sits at 0.9% in Ramsey County (91 people) compared to about 2.4% overall across all occupations; and

WHEREAS, High demand for tech workers mean high wages for many in the field; the average annual wage for tech occupations in Ramsey County is about \$102,600, over \$35,000 more than the average for all occupations in the county; and

WHEREAS, There is a continued need to raise awareness, overcome barriers, and welcome Ramsey County residents from all backgrounds to explore and succeed in Tech careers; Now, Therefore, Be It

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners and County Manager hereby proclaim the month of May 2023 as Tech Month in Ramsev County; and Be It Further

PROCLAIMED, The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners encourages all Ramsey County residents to honor and celebrate the contributions of the tech industry and all tech workers in Ramsey County.

Trista MatasCastillo, Board Chair, District 3

Mary & McSuire Mary Jo McGuire, Commissioner, District 2 Rafael Ortega, Commissioner, District 5

Unteria Q. Reinhardt Victoria Reinhardt, Commissioner, District 7

Nicole Frethem, Commissioner, District 1

Kuna Maran Rena Moran, Commissioner, District 4

MEEDER Mai Chong Xiong, Commissioner, District 6

Ryan T. O'C