Board of Commissioners

Ordinance

B2021-018

15 West Kellogg Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55102 651-266-9200

Sponsor: County Manager's Office

Title: Adoption of the Proposed Housing Stability Department Ordinance

Background and Rationale:

Housing stability for residents has been a focus of Ramsey County for the last decade, but progress and coordination across stakeholders has been difficult to achieve. Building on the work of the Interdepartmental Housing Council, in 2019 an interim manager of Housing Stability was appointed to increase responsiveness and improve service coordination. The 2020-2021 budget included an initiative to effectively address homelessness by reducing the fragmentation in our current system through reorganization.

The new Housing Stability Department will align all County housing services and programs in one organization. Further, the financing and development of housing infrastructure will be consolidated within the Community & Economic Development department, which is also within the Economic Growth and Community investment (EGCI) Service Team.

Placement of the new Housing Stability Department within the EGCI Service Team strategically and operationally aligns all resources, funding, staffing and programs along the housing continuum: Emergency Housing > Supportive Housing > Subsidized Housing > Long-Term Stability within one Service Team to improve the delivery of services to our residents.

After creation of the department, budget and full time equivalents supporting the housing stability functions will be transferred to the Housing Stability Department from the Health & Wellness Service Team and the Incident Management Team.

The Ramsey County Home Rule Charter section 5.01A.1 states that acts of the County Board which shall be by ordinance include the following: Establish, structure, merge, or abolish any county department, office, agency, board or commission, except as provided for in this charter.

Recommendation:

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners resolved to:

Adopt the Proposed Housing Stability Department Ordinance

A motion to approve was made by Commissioner MatasCastillo, seconded by Commissioner Ortega. Motion passed.

Aye: - 7: Carter, Frethem, MatasCastillo, McDonough, McGuire, Ortega, and Reinhardt

By:______

Janet Guthrie, Chief Clerk - County Board



Meeting Date: 1/12/2021

File Number: 2021-015