To: Riverview Corridor Policy Advisory Committee

From: Riverview Corridor Project Staff

RE: Community Advisory Committee and Station Area Planning Task Force Appointments

Date: April 1, 2021

Introduction

On November 13, 2020, The Riverview Modern Streetcar Project's Policy Advisory Committee <u>invited</u> <u>members of the public to apply</u> to serve the project's Community Advisory Committee and Station Area Planning Task Force to advise technical staff and policymakers during the Environmental and Pre-Engineering (EPE) Phase of the project.

The Community Advisory Committee will meet quarterly and provide a community perspective on project design, environmental analysis and community engagement opportunities and techniques throughout the entire project area. The Station Area Planning Task Force will meet monthly and provide a community perspective on the development of station area plans as well as host community engagement activities to inform those plans within the City of Saint Paul.

Application and Recommendation Process

The Policy Advisory Committee solicited applications for the Community Advisory Committee and Station Area Planning Task Force between November 13, 2020 and January 4, 2021. An initial application deadline of December 15, 2020 was extended to January 4, 2021 to allow more time to recruit additional applicants, especially those from communities of color.

The online applications were advertised through project email lists, the project website, social media, paid ads and press releases to local media as well as through individual outreach to community leaders and organizations in the project area. Additionally, an <u>online information session</u> was held on December 1, 2020 that was attended by 74 people.

In total, 78 people applied to serve on the Community Advisory Committee and 26 people applied to serve on the Station Area Planning Task Force. Of these applicants, 12 applied to serve on both groups.

In order to provide the Policy Advisory Committee with the broadest and most representative input, member recommendations focused on providing broad geographic representation, racial and cultural diversity, and representation of businesses, residents and transit users.

On January 21, 2021, a subgroup of the Policy Advisory Committee met to review applications and recommend members for the Community Advisory Committee representing the Hennepin County portion of the project area. This subgroup included Policy Advisory Committee members from Hennepin County, the City of Bloomington and Ramsey County. This subgroup was not tasked with recommending Station Area Planning Task Force members, as that work is limited to the City of Saint Paul.



On January 27, 2021, a different subgroup of the Policy Advisory Committee met to review applications and recommend members representing Ramsey County for the Community Advisory Committee and the Station Area Planning Task Force. This subgroup included Policy Advisory Committee members from Ramsey County and the City of Saint Paul. On January 27, the subgroup identified applicants to recommend for the Community Advisory Committee and Station Area Planning Task Force and also decided to conduct additional, targeted outreach in February to recruit additional applicants to represent the diverse communities along the corridor. In total, six additional applicants were received, and the subgroup reconvened on March 25, 2021. At this meeting, the subgroup finalized its list of recommended Community Advisory Committee and Station Area Planning Task Force members representing Ramsey County.

Both subgroups recommend that the Policy Advisory Committee remain open to the possibility of adding additional Community Advisory Committee or Station Area Planning Task Force members in the future to address gaps in representation.

Recommended Community Advisory Committee Members

The two subgroups of the Policy Advisory Committee are recommending 24 people for the Community Advisory Committee. Of these individuals, eight identify as Black, African or African American and two as biracial or multiracial. 13 identify as men and 11 identify as women. Five identify as people who rent their homes and two identify as LGBTQIA+. Ages range from 19 to 64, with a median age of 38. Nine live in Saint Paul Ward 2, eight live in Saint Paul Ward 3, six live in other Saint Paul Wards and one lives in Bloomington. The recommended appointees to the Community Advisory Committee are:

•	Safiyo Ali	•	Cristina Diaz	•	Matthew McMillan

Abenezer Ayana	•	Eric Ecklund	•	Negatu Mekuria

•	Katherine Bel	•	Kevin Gallatin	•	Corinne Ollman

•	Daniel Bruggeman	•	Diane Gerth	•	Lawrence Richardson
---	------------------	---	-------------	---	---------------------

•	Sam Burns	 Sylvie Guezeon 	 Jay Severance
---	-----------	------------------------------------	-----------------------------------

•	Stephany Carpenter	 Mary Hogan-Bard 	 Bob Whitehead
---	--------------------	-------------------------------------	-----------------------------------

•	Hanna Debele	•	Meghan Kress	•	Amanda Willis
•	nailla Debele	_	Meghan Kress	_	Allialiua vviilis

	Jason DeBoer-Moran		Bill Lindeke	•	Adam Yust
_	Jason Deboer-Moran	•	DIII LIIIUEKE		Augili tusi

Recommended Station Area Planning Task Force Members

The subgroup of the Policy Advisory Committee representing Ramsey County recommended 13 people for the Station Area Planning Task Force. Of these individuals, one identifies as Latino and one identifies as Latino/Biracial. Ten identify as men and three identify as women. Three identify as people who rent



their homes and three identify as LGBTQIA+. Ages range from 26 to 76, with a median age of 54. Seven live in Saint Paul Ward 2, five live in Saint Paul Ward 3, and one lives in Minneapolis. The recommended appointees to the Station Area Planning Task Force are:

•	Nathan Bakken	•	Mathews	•	Joe Landsberger
•	Richard Bohannon		Hollinshead	•	Jose Lozano
•	Tracy Farr	•	Aaron Johnson-Ortiz	•	Lisa Moe
•	Patrick Guernsey	•	Perri Kinsman	•	Paul Pappas
	•	•	Jyni Koschak	•	Tanner Schulz

Separately from this process, the City of Saint Paul has appointed Planning Commissioner Kristine Grill to serve as co-chair of the Station Area Planning Task Force.

Recommended Policy Advisory Committee Action

• Approve the Community Advisory Committee and Station Area Planning Task Force member appointments recommended by Policy Advisory Committee subgroups.

