A Corporate Surety Bond for Auctioneers, payable to Ramsey County in the amount of $1,000.00, must accompany the license application. Licenses are valid one year from the date of issuance.
A new or renewal license is $20.00. Payment may be made by check or money order, payable to Ramsey County.
To renew your license, you must contact our office or submit the required forms and fee 30 days before your license expires.
An auctioneer’s license is required by any non-resident in order to conduct an auction within the State of Minnesota. An applicant who is a resident of another state may be licensed as an auctioneer in Minnesota under the following conditions:
The applicant’s state must issue auctioneers’ licenses to Minnesota citizens on the same or a similar basis as it does to its own citizens.
The applicant must comply with Minnesota’s laws related to auctioneer’s licenses.
To qualify for a license an applicant must be:
18 years of age or older
A resident of the county and state in which you are claiming residency for six months before the date of the application.
The following forms must be completed and accepted before a license can be issued. Forms must be printed, signed and mailed or delivered to our office in person. Notary services are available on-site.
Property Tax Services
90 W. Plato Blvd.
Saint Paul, MN 55107
The following additional information is required to establish reciprocity:
A certified copy of your Auctioneer’s license, if one was issued by your resident state.
A certified copy of the state auction laws that exist in your resident state, as they exist at the time of your application.
If you reside in a state that has no auctioneer statutes, you must submit a certified copy of the auctioneer’s ordinance that exists in the municipality in which your Auctioneer’s license was issued or a statement from the City Clerk affirming that:
The state has no statutes relating to the licensing of auctioneers.
A Minnesota resident may conduct auctions in the municipality on the same or a similar basis as a resident of the municipality.
A Corporate Surety Bond for Auctioneers in the amount of $1,000.00 made payable to Ramsey County.
A new or renewal license is $20.00.
Payment may be made by check or money order and payable to Ramsey County.
To renew your license you must contact our office or submit the required forms and fee 30 days prior to expiration of your license.
Additional requirements of all auctioneers
All advertisements of auction sales must list the name, address and license number of the auctioneer or auctioneers conducting a sale.
Any change of address by the licensee requires a Notice in writing, with your new address and a $3 fee, to the county auditor issuing the license. The county auditor will issue a duplicate license showing the new address.
Licensee has 30 days from the date of their change of address to notify the county auditor.
Failure to notify the county auditor can result in the automatic cancelation of your license.
Before sale at public auction, every auctioneer must enter into a written contract, containing the terms and conditions of the sale, with the owner or consignee of any property to be sold.