Mary Jo McGuire, District 2

Contact us

Serving residents of the following communities:

Lauderdale, Little Canada, Mounds View (Precinct 4), New Brighton, Roseville and St. Anthony (Ramsey County portion).

Commissioner McGuire

Commissioner Mary Jo McGuire was elected to the Ramsey County Board in 2012.  She chairs the County’s Legislative Committee, is Co-Chair of Active Living Ramsey Communities Coalition, and is a member of the Library Board, Extension Committee, Suburban Ramsey Family Collaborative, Ramsey County League of Local Governments, and the Transportation Advisory Board.

Mary Jo is involved in a number of community organizations including the League of Women Voters, Rotary, and the Roseville Area Community Foundation.

She is active in state and national advocacy organizations on behalf of counties, serving as the 2nd Vice President of the Association of Minnesota Counties (AMC), and member of its Public Safety Policy Committee. She is 2nd Vice President of the National Association of Counties (NACo) and serves as Vice Chair of the Program and Services Committee and member of its Justice & Public Safety Committee,  Arts & Cultural Committee, Healthy Counties Committee and Large Urban County Caucus.

Commissioner McGuire is a lifelong resident of Ramsey County, currently residing in Roseville. She has a BA in Business Administration from the College of St. Catherine, a JD from Hamline University School of Law, and an MA in Public Administration from the Harvard University Kennedy School of Government. From 1989 - 2002, she served as a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives stepping down in 2002 due to redistricting. In 2011, Commissioner McGuire was elected to the Minnesota Senate in a special election, where she served until 2012.

Committees and commissions